Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu

Sum-2010 | Engr 240

Instructor:   Professor Arlen Planting
Office:   ET 227
Phone:   (208)426-4826
Office hours:   Mon/Wed, 2:00pm – 4:00pm
Tue/Thu, 4:30pm – 5:30pm
or by appointment
Contact Info.: by email: clarenceplanting@boisestate.edu

COURSE INFORMATION:      

Course Syllabus: pdf

Credit Hours: 3 (Engr 240)

Time and Place: MoTuWeTh 10:30 am to 11:35 am, MEC307

Prerequisites: Engr 120 or CE 120, and PHYS 212. Coreq: MATH 333.

Description (from catalog):
A concise overview of the basic concepts, methods, and tools employed in the broad field of electrical and electronic engineering. Provides a foundation for use throughout a career in engineering or science to understand, analyze, and improve systems that incorporate electronic circuits or electrical machinery/equipment. Basic circuit theory, analog & digital electronic components/circuits, communication circuits, power distribution circuits, and AC/DC machines.

Text Book Web Page: (link)



Homework

Hwk 1 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 06/09/2010):
Read (Sections 1.1 – 1.4)
Problems 1.9, 1.14, 1.21

Hwk 2 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 06/10/2010):
Read (Section 1.5)
Problems 1.35, 1.36, 1.39

Hwk 3 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 06/10/2010):
Read (Section 1.6)
Problems 1.42, 1.43, 1.44

Hwk 4 (Due: Beginning of Class Monday 06/14/2010):
Read (Section 1.7)
Problems 1.56, 1.58, 1.60

Hwk 5 (Due: Beginning of Class Tuesday 06/15/2010):
Read (Section 2.1)
Problems 1.61 1.71, 1.74

Hwk 6 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 06/16/2010):
Read (Section 2.2)
Problems 2.6, 2.15, 2.17

Hwk 7 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 06/17/2010):
Read (Section 2.3)
Problems 2.24, 2.29, 2.30

Hwk 8 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 06/23/2010):
Read (Section 2.4)
Problems 2.36, 2.37, 2.40

Hwk 9 (Due: Beginning of Class Monday 06/28/2010):
Read (Section 2.5)
Problems 2.48, 2.50, 2.56

Hwk 10 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 06/30/2010):
Read (Section 2.6, 2.8)
Problems 2.65, 2.72, 2.75

Hwk 11 (Due: Beginning of Class Tuesday 07/06/2010):
Read (Section 3.1)
Problems 2.81, 2.82, 2.88

Hwk 12 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 07/07/2010):
Read (Section 3.2-3.3)
Problems 3.13, 3.16, 3.20

Hwk 13 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 07/08/2010):
Read (Section 3.4)
Problems 3.24, 3.35, 3.36

Hwk 14 (Due: Beginning of Class Tuesday 07/13/2010):
Read (Section 3.5-3.6)
Problems 3.43, 3.45, 3.55

Hwk 15 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 07/14/2010):
Read (Section 3.7)
Problems 3.60, 3.61, 3.68

Hwk 16 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 07/15/2010):
Read (Section 4.1)
Problems 4.3

Hwk 17 (Due: Beginning of Class Monday 07/19/2010):
Read (Section 4.2)
Problems 4.21, 4.23, 4.24

Hwk 18 (Due: Beginning of Class Tuesday 07/20/2010):
Read (Section 4.3)
Problems 4.33, 4.36, 4.38

Hwk 19 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 07/22/2010):
Read (Section 5.1)
Problems 5.5, 5.8, 5.9

Hwk 20 (Due: Beginning of Class Monday 07/26/2010):
Read (Section 5.2)
Problems 5.13, 5.19, 5.23, 5.24

Hwk 21 (Due: Beginning of Class Tuesday 07/27/2010):
Read (Section 5.3)
Problems 5.25, 5.26, 5.31

Hwk 22 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 07/28/2010):
Read (Section 5.4)
Problems 5.35, 5.37, 5.38

Hwk 23 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 07/29/2010):
Read (Section 5.5)
Problems 5.42, 5.46, 5.52

Hwk 24 (Due: Beginning of Class Tuesday 08/03/2010):
Read (Section 5.6)
Problems 5.64, 5.67, 5.81

Hwk 25 (Due: Beginning of Class Wednesday 08/04/2010):
Read (Section 5.7)
Problems 5.87, 5.89, 5.90

Hwk 26 (Due: Beginning of Class Thursday 08/05/2010):
Problems 5.96, 5.98, 5.102


Quiz

Quiz 1 (06/14/2010): Sections 1.1-1.5 Quiz 2 (07/06/2010): Chapter 2


Lecture Notes

Tue. 06/08/10:

Wed. 06/09/10:  updated 06/10/10

Wed. 06/10/10:

Selected problems

Mon. 06/14/10:

Tue. 06/15/10:

Wed. 06/16/10:

Selected problems

Thu. 06/17/10:

Mon. 06/28/10:

Tue. 06/29/10:

Wed. 06/30/10:

Thu. 07/01/10:

Tue. 07/06/10:

Wed. 07/07/10:

Thu. 07/08/10:

Fri. 07/09/10:

Test 2 Review Materials:

Tue. 07/13/10:

Wed. 07/14/10:

Thu. 07/15/10:

Mon. 07/19/10:

Tue. 07/20/10:

Wed. 07/21/10:

Thu. 07/22/10:

Mon. 07/26/10:

Tue. 07/27/10:

Wed. 07/28/10:

Thu. 07/29/10:

Tue. 08/03/10:

Wed. 08/04/10:

Thu. 08/05/10:

Calculator Policy: Any devices that can be used as a “crib sheet” are not allowed in the exams and quizzes. A simple calculator (Casio all fx-115 models; Hewlett Packard HP 33s and HP 35s models; Texas Instruments TI-30X and TI-36X models) is sufficient for the calculations. Note that these are the only models permitted in Fundamentals of Engineering exam.