Skip to Main Content
Mobile Menu


Image of IDoCode logo
Boise State University received a 3 year $1 million dollar National Science Foundation (NSF) grant# 1339403 for its IDoCode project to promote computer science education in high schools.  NSF has funded select CS10K projects across the country with a goal to have 10,000 well-trained computer science teachers in 10,000 high schools across the United States.

Computer Science skills are in high demand as it has become a driving force behind many of the advances in business, science and math, and now even social sciences and art.  Thus in 2014, the State Board of Education and House Education Committee approved a rule change which allows students to take dual credit or AP computer science as core math or science credit versus elective – providing incentive for students to explore the field of Computer Science. To supply this demand, we need teachers that are trained to teach computer science effectively.

View a one page IDoCode program summary.

Classes are planned to fit into a teachers’ schedule with classes beginning after 4:30 pm as well as being offered during the summer after 1pm.  Classes for the first cohort began Fall 2014.  The fifth cohort began Summer 2018.  For details on the application process and registration deadlines visit: Apply: Graduate Certificate for CS Teacher Endorsement.

Image of Idaho CS Training Map

View a map of Idaho Districts/Charter/Private schools participating in the IDoCode Graduate Programs or the Professional Development Training.

NOTE: Click on any symbol in the map to see more details.

For more IDoCode information contact: Amit Jain, (208) 426-3821 or email

NSF Grant Award – “CS 10K: IDoCode: A Sustainable Model for Computer Science in Idaho High Schools.”

“This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. (1339403).”
“Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.”